.

TweetLevel: Rating Twitter Influence

Internet, public relations, social media, technology, Web 3.0 2 Comments

This week, Edelman released TweetLevel, the latest web-based tool designed to measure one’s “importance” on Twitter.

TweetLevelFor those who haven’t given in to peer pressure to join the site yet, Twitter is a “microblog” that enables users to share thoughts, activities and news via 140 character text updates.

Twitter’s founders had a pretty basic, yet novel idea. They wanted to create a platform where users could connect with each other online to answer one simple question, “What are you doing?”

I’ll admit that when I first joined (@almacy), I just didn’t get it. Besides a few close family members and friends, I remember thinking, “Who really cares what I’m doing?” In fact, my first tweet isn’t exactly going to assist in solving global strife.

Read the rest…

Top 10 “Influential” DC Twitterers

social media 7 Comments

Last week, the Politico’s Patrick Gavin (@pwgavin) wrote this piece, The Top 10 Most Influential DC Twitterers. According to Patrick, they are:

  1. Karl Rove (@karlrove), former White House senior advisor & “Architect”
  2. Sen. Claire McCaskill (@clairecmc), U.S. Senator, D-Missouri
  3. David Gregory (@davidgregory), host of NBC’s Meet the Press
  4. President Barack Obama (@barackobama)
  5. Newt Gingrich (@newtgingrich), former House Republican Speaker
  6. Ana Marie Cox (@anamariecox), former Wonkette
  7. Sen. Chuck Grassley (@chuckgrassley), U.S. Senator, R-Iowa
  8. Joe Trippi (@joetrippi), Democratic campaign adviser
  9. Patrick Ruffini (@patrickruffini), GOP strategist
  10. Al Gore (@algore), former U.S. Vice President

Of course, as with most lists, there will usually be some disagreement. However, with all due respect, I think that Patrick’s list is way off the mark. All of these folks (with the possible exceptions of Ana Marie, Patrick and Joe) would be influential whether they are on Twitter or not.

Read the rest…